Elisabeth Stheeman reappointed to the Financial Policy Committee



PUBLISHED OCT 13, 2020 BY <u>GOV.UK</u>

Elisabeth's first term as an external member of the Financial Policy Committee ends on 11 February 2021. Her second 3year term will end on 11 February 2024.

Further information

Elisabeth was appointed to the FPC in November 2017 and started her role at the end of February 2018. She has been an external member of the Bank of England's FMI (Financial Market Infrastructure) Board since July 2017.

Elisabeth is currently also a member of the Supervisory Board of Aareal Bank AG, the third largest listed bank in Germany, the deputy chair of the Risk Committee as well as member of the Technology and Innovation Committee. She is also a nonexecutive director of Edinburgh Investment Trust (EIT) plc, a FTSE 250 listed investment trust, primarily investing in UK securities (total assets £1 billion).

Previously, Elisabeth was a Senior Advisor to the Bank of England's Prudential Regulation Authority (2015-18). Prior to this, Elisabeth worked for over 25 years in the financial services industry, including in roles as a Chief Operating Officer in Investment Banking at Morgan Stanley (2007 to 2012), and as a Global Chief Operating Officer for LaSalle Investment Management (2013 to 2014). Elisabeth's expertise extends across a wide range of areas including capital markets, investment banking, real estate and private equity.

About the Financial Policy Committee

The FPC is the UK's macroprudential regulator: its objective is to protect and enhance the stability of the UK's financial

system by identifying, monitoring and addressing systemic risks.

The FPC has thirteen members. Six of them are Bank of England staff: the Governor, four Deputy Governors and the Executive Director for Financial Stability Strategy and Risk.

There are also five external members who are selected from outside the Bank for their experience and expertise in financial services.

The Committee also includes the Chief Executive of the Financial Conduct Authority and one non-voting member from HM Treasury.

Press release distributed by Media Pigeon on behalf of GOV.UK, on Oct 13, 2020. For more information subscribe and <u>follow</u> us.

Media Assets

Embedded Media

Visit the <u>online press release</u> to interact with the embedded media.

https://mediapigeon.io/newsroom/govuk/releases/en/elisabethstheeman-reappointed-to-the-financial-policy-committee-235

GOV.UK

Newsroom: <u>https://mediapigeon.io/newsroom/govuk</u> Website: https://www.gov.uk/ Primary Email: publiccorrespondence@cabinetoffice.gov.uk

Social Media

Twitter - <u>https://twitter.com/cabinetofficeuk</u> Instagram - <u>https://www.instagram.com/cabinetoffice</u> Linkedin - <u>http://www.linkedin.com/company/cabinet-office</u> Youtube - <u>http://www.youtube.com/user/cabinetofficeuk</u> Flickr - <u>http://www.flickr.com/photos/cabinetoffice/</u>