# Press release - Sakharov Prize 2020: MEPs select the finalists



Following a joint vote by MEPs in the Foreign Affairs and Development committees on Monday 12 October, the finalists for the 2020 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought are:

#### Next steps

The European Parliament's Conference of Presidents (President and political groups' leaders) will select the final laureate on Thursday 22 October. The prize itself will be awarded in a ceremony in Parliament's hemicycle on 16 December.

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament. It was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms. It is named in honour of Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov and the prize money is 50 000 euros.

Last year, the prize was given to Ilham Tohti, an Uyghur economist fighting for the rights of China's Uyghur minority.

Press release distributed by Media Pigeon on behalf of Europa, on Oct 12, 2020. For more information subscribe and <u>follow</u> us.

### **Press Contacts**

Eric Mamer
 Chief Spokesperson

#### eric.mamer@ec.europa.eu

+32 2 299 40 73

#### 2. Dana Spinant

Deputy Chief Spokesperson dana.spinant@ec.europa.eu +32 2 299 01 50

#### 3. Elisaveta Dimitrova

Head of Unit <a href="mailto:elisaveta.dimitrova@ec.europa.eu">elisaveta.dimitrova@ec.europa.eu</a> +32 2 295 88 38

#### 4. Johannes Bahrke

Coordinating Spokesperson johannes.bahrke@ec.europa.eu +32 2 295 86 15

#### 5. Vivian Loonela

Coordinating Spokesperson vivian.loonela@ec.europa.eu +32 2 296 67 12

# **Media Assets**

# **Embedded Media**

Visit the <u>online press release</u> to interact with the embedded media.

https://mediapigeon.io/newsroom/europa/releases/en/press-release-sakharov-prize-2020-meps-select-the-finalists-299

# **Europa**

**Newsroom:** <a href="https://mediapigeon.io/newsroom/europa">https://mediapigeon.io/newsroom/europa</a>

Website: https://europa.eu/

# Primary Email: press@europa.eu

# **Social Media**

Twitter - <a href="https://twitter.com/EU\_commission">https://twitter.com/EU\_commission</a>
Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/EuropeanCommission">https://www.facebook.com/EuropeanCommission</a>
Instagram - <a href="https://www.instagram.com/europeancommission/">https://www.instagram.com/europeancommission/</a>
Linkedin - <a href="https://www.linkedin.com/company/european-commission">https://www.linkedin.com/company/european-commission</a>